Leather and Tears – Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  please follow little froggy for more stories.

Here is the photo and my story…

Leather and Tears

libraryMost days, I couldn’t wait for one of the lawyers to send me to the library.  It smelled like old books and fancy leather.  It’s wooden shelving and banisters were polished.  Under the pale yellow ceiling, everything glowed golden and glorious.

It was orderly.  It was so orderly, that one of the lawyers could tell me the row and section of the book requested.  Such knowledge made my job so much easier and –  just nicer.

Though I often wondered what I was doing fetching law books and creating spreadsheets, I loved my little job.

It was just that day, is all.  That day I’d stayed up, all the night before, drinking and crying.  That day I wondered what the point of anything was.   That day I had to copy 100 pages of some old legal decision.

I thought I’d just give the copy machine a slight kick.  Before I knew it, I was kicking it quite hard.  I leaned over it crying.  One of the partners glanced  into the copy room.

Like I said, I loved my little job.

Ellespeth

This week’s photo prompt is provided by TJ Paris. Thank you TJ!

8 thoughts on “Leather and Tears – Fiction

Leave a Reply

