Baking Chocolate Chip Cookies & All – Journal Prose and Poem

breakfast-356148_640You’re a much more serious person than I am. I think you’d laugh if you knew I think this way because I seem so serious.

For instance, we decided to make chocolate chip cookies today. A first for us. We almost died to discover that we’d need 2 sticks of butter and so we converted the butter amount to canola oil…healthier fats… 😛

And we debated each batch – like we were aiming for a blue ribbon.

Baking Chocolate Chip Cookies & All

Sometimes
the cookie’s edge is crisp
and brittle
and breaks
when lightly touched
other times
it’s soft
and oozing chocolate
and nuts
melting together
like that summer day
when it seemed so cold
to us
outside.

Ellespeth

image via pixabay

10 thoughts on “Baking Chocolate Chip Cookies & All – Journal Prose and Poem

  1. Chocolate chip cookies are just so mouth-wateringly delicious, and how great that you made them together. I can see you making them very often in future. Your poem is really lovely and describes choc chip cookies perfectly. A yummy post, Ellespeth.

    Like

  2. I used to fear butter. I grew up with margarine and hated the stuff so stayed away from it. Then I discovered butter at the farmers market – wow! I feel I was deprived. I use it all the time now. The poem was delightful

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

