Books I’ve Escaped Into This Year – Prose & A List

book-1421097_640Well this has turned into a rather long entry for me but…I’ll go ahead with it.

Maybe people wonder what a poet reads.  Well, I worship my Kindle.  Because of my vision issues, it’s allowing me to continue reading.  That’s such a gift…reading.

I think my frame of mind more or less dictates what I read.  And then, depending on where my frame of mind takes me, I might read close to everything that author’s written…

Sometimes I don’t even finish the book.  Since I don’t consider myself a book connoisseur, I haven’t included those books on my list.

I pretty much live to love and write and read…in that order.  I have a daily writing schedule.  It’s an hourly thing.  Not a page thing.  About four hours a day writing and/or editing.

Other stuff, of course, gets in the way – the toddlers we watch some mornings, cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, friendships, step-kids, entertaining, walking, walking and the fitness gym thingy-poo.

Plus, ya know, I’m retired.  So sometimes I work in the balcony garden and sometimes I just sit on the balcony and don’t do an effin thing!

I’d like to do some book reviews.  I’ve started a few, but they just weren’t the way I want to present my thoughts on books I’ve read.

I guess, in the end, I’m continuing to read the authors I’ve read so far this year and hoping that they continue to produce more work.  And I guess that’s a good book review.  I give them all a galaxy 😛

So here goes…books read so far in 2016

Currently Reading:
Amy and Isabelle: A Novel
(Elizabeth Strout)

What I’m Reading When I Can’t Sleep After I’ve Finished Reading For The Day
Currently:
Lily of the Mohawks: The Story of St. Kateri
(Emily Cavins)
Ongoing
The Bible …Especially Psalms

Here’s The Six Month List:

The Burgess Boys
Olive Kitteridge: Fiction
(Elizabeth Strout)

Everything I Never Told You
(Celeste Ng)

The Little Stranger
Affinity
Tipping The Velvet
The Night Watch
The Paying Guests
Fingersmith
(Sarah Waters)

Beneath the Shadows
(Sara Foster)

While You Were Mine
(Ann Howard Creel)

Elizabeth Is Missing
(Emma Healey)

A Memory of Violets: A Novel of London’s Flower Sellers
(Hazel Gaynor)

Lincoln’s Melancholy: How Depression Challenged A President & Fueled His Greatness
(Joshua Wolf Shenk)

Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings:  A Novel
(Stephen O’Connor)

What Alice Forgot
(Liane Moriarty)

The Constitution of the United States, Declaration of Independence, and Articles of Confederation  (never hurts to know for sure)
(Founding Fathers)

When I was recovering from my broken arm I went through a time of reflection about healing and that somehow lead me to read lots of books about Mary of Magdalene.

Magdalene
(Angela Hunt)
Mary, Called Magdalene
(Margaret George)
Mary Magdalene: A Novel
(Diana Wallis Taylor)

Because Sometimes I Like A Good Historical Romance Series:
The Laramie Series
Books 1-6
(Karen Hasley)

Books We’re Reading To Each Other On The Balcony:
Henry & June
(Anais Nin)

I really have loved all of these books and the places they’ve taken me and the characters they’ve introduced me to and – some nights – the dreams they’ve brought me.

Ellespeth

image via Pixabay

Leave a Reply

