That Still-Framed Moment In Time – Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to{{ PJ }}for hosting this weekly challenge.  please follow little froggy for more stories.

Here is the photo and my story…

That Still-Framed Moment In Time

I was 12.  What made that day different – up to that point in my life at least – was how fast everything can change.

That still-framed moment in time, when I’d forgotten my knee guard and Mom had driven back home so I could retrieve it.

I hurried inside.  At the foot of the stairs was my dad. From somewhere, upstairs, a strange woman’s voice called his name.  Dad and I stared at each other in shock and disbelief.

Then, I ran outside with the knee guard and got back into Mom’s car.

“Dad’s home early,” I said.

“He said he might be,” Mom said.

For a long while, Mom and I rode in silence. Our breathing began to fog up the windshield.

“I have a feeling we’re gonna win today, Mom.”

My mother looked at me and smiled. I don’t know why I smiled back, but I did.

Ellespeth

Photo by Yinglan.

20 thoughts on “That Still-Framed Moment In Time – Fiction

Leave a Reply

