Paternity Leave – Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  As always, thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  Please follow little froggy for more stories.

Here is the photo and my story:

Paternity Leave

The closer we got to my home town, the more nervous we each became.  There’s no wonder to that, since we’d only been married a year and were seven  months pregnant and Seth lost his job last week.  My parents had offered us the old artist’s studio next to their house.

“I just want to be certain you know that the place needs quite  a bit of work,”  I kept saying in various ways.  Seth had never been to my home town.

“I don’t have too much more to do with my time right now,” Seth would reply each time.

There wasn’t much need for oil workers these days.  Seth was thinking of changing fields.  We could afford to pay my parents rent, and it would be nice to be together with our new baby for a while.

“It’s air-conditioned, though,” I finally said.

Ellespeth

Thank you Phylor for our photo prompt!

27 thoughts on “Paternity Leave – Fiction

  1. I can think of many a young couple starting out this way. Hard times come to so many, and when they do, the only way is to make the best of it and move on from there. Something tells me this couple will prosper from now on. Time spent together, in which to sort out their difficulties, could work wonders. As you said in a comment above, ‘love prevails’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • They’ll make it 🙂 I’m certain, too. I don’t know if it’s all more difficult these days but…so many of us have been through something like this – even without the pregnancy.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  2. Little house or big, if one’s heart is big enough to swallow all the negativity and only show positivity and love, I think that makes it a good deal. Loved reading the story, difficult times yet trying to make the best of everything. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lovely story! two young people starting out and baby on the way. sadly he might be a little too affected by his recent job loss, needs to be more positive and make the best of their lives together. Destiny can change through hard work. Wonder why she had to console him mentioning the air conditioning, shouldn’t he be more concerned for her well being? love how you so well defined the emotions through the conversation

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

