Those Old Nomadic Ways – Flash Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers So grateful to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  Please follow little froggy for more stories.

Happy Thanksgiving to all who celebrate the day!

Oh my goodness!  I want to try this again.  So it’s a story born from a poem I wrote a while back.   What I’m attempting these days.   Story is first and poem follows.

Here is the picture and my submission for this week:

Those Old Nomadic Ways

The Story:

She spread a deck of tarot cards on the table.  Our eyes met.  I was but a traveler attending a week-end concert.  She was but a link to something unknown to me.  I met her gaze and watched her lay down the cards of my life.

Boats on the river passed by.  From one there sounded a calliope whispering the past to me.

I was a lost soul.  She drew me in.  She touched me.  The sun set golden.  Images of hope appeared.

End of story

The Poem:

A tiny camper
glimpsed
rushing by on the freeway
away
passed other cars
and realities

put me in that camper
on some sparse land
surrounded by silence
and blue skies

searching for anchors
and reasons
to come
ashore
again.

Ellespeth

24 thoughts on “Those Old Nomadic Ways – Flash Fiction

  1. Such lovely sentiments in both story and poem of longing and hope. I love your explanation in the comments above of how the 2 are linked. At times we all need to reflect and search our souls, although I don’t out my money on tarot cards:) But whatever it takes 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! That is so true, Michael…sometimes, the way the cards fall is amazingly accurate – like you say – years down the line. The cards are so beautifully illustrated these days, too. So much to gaze and wonder upon.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

    • I seem to be waxing poetic these days…this won’t do! I’m supposed to be writing 1000 words a day 😛
      Thanks, though, doc. I’m so thankful for your faithful follow of my work.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

