The Truth About Absinthe Fields

Today is the first day, in a week, that I’ve not only been out of bed but also able to somewhat function.  A cold?  The flu?  My everyday trips – taking my best friend for her radiation – were turned over to the loving care of others.  I think I’ll be up and well by Monday.  Yay!

I came online and saw this week’s photograph for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  It reminded me of a poem I wrote about three years ago.  The poem was originally titled The Places We Go For Comfort  and other parts of it have been reworked as well.  Since I’m still not up to feeling too creative, I’ll post this and hope I’ll be back to writing stories again next week.

So grateful to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.    Our photo is provided by Jade Wong.

Please follow little froggy for more stories.

The Truth About Absinthe Fields

I’d hardly advise
to take the first offer
into his bed.

How could I be
more honest
than that?

And yet,
if you must,
go on and take it
– during the cocktail hour –
before those naughty green fairies
come out to play.

Ellespeth

4 thoughts on “The Truth About Absinthe Fields

Leave a Reply

