Sugared Aloe Tips – Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  So grateful to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.   This week’s photo prompt is provided by loniangraphics

Please follow little froggy for more stories.

Here is the photograph and my story:

Sugared Aloe Tips

The first time the doctor took my cast off, I cried. Whose dead and shedding leg skin was that staring back and mocking me?

“OMG!” I wailed. “My skin is forever changed!”

“Oh don’t worry about that part,”  said some gum chomping medical assistant.  Her hair was a popular shade of purple.   She wore a nose ring and had several layers of earrings on each ear.

“But my skin!” I protested.  My skin!  The softest part of me you’d always claimed.

“Don’t worry about that now honey. Skin’ll grow back softer and stronger when you rub a little aloe and sugar on it now and then.”

But I did worry.  Like any other woman would worry.  I’d spent a lifetime taking care of my skin.  Making it that soft barrier between leather and silk.

Ellespeth

32 thoughts on “Sugared Aloe Tips – Fiction

  1. I love the humour in your tale, Ellespeth. It certainly made me smile. If skin that’s been hidden under a cast looks like frosted/snow-bedecked pine needles, I can only hope I never break anything! The description of the medical student is excellent and so funny.
    From comments above, I can see your story is based on personal experience, so I hope you’re making a good recovery. Hope the aloe and sugar mix is working well. 🙂

    Like

    • 🙂 Russell. My physical therapist colored her hair purple a couple of weeks ago. I assured her she would be in one of my stories. When I saw her earlier this week, I told her she’d appeared in one of my flash fiction pieces with a nose ring and lots of earrings. “But I don’t have a nose ring or earrings,” she protested. “No,” I said…”but your hair is purple :)”
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great story.. Changes in our appearance is always a concern and we are constantly looking for ways to improve it and sometimes it just takes time. It’s hard to be patient though.

    Like

  3. A descriptive story that many will relate to. Human skin is resilient if given half a chance. Gentle massage is my tip,

    Like

Leave a Reply

