You. Want. To. Do. WHAT?

Ellespeth Visits The Orthopedic Doctor…

Just another follow-up to my recovery process from a fall on 2/7.

yes, that’s right…earlier this week…when I must have been having a totally stupid moment:

Doc:  I see, from the way you are moving that your knee is bothering you.

Me:  Yes.  It’s still giving out on me and swelling and it takes me 10 minutes to get out of bed in the morning.  But I think it’s getting better.

Doc:  Let’s have a look at that.

Me:  Okay but no touching it.

Doc:  Oh my, it’s swollen.  That’s why it’s hurting you.  I’d like to give you a shot of cortisone right into your knee….

Me:  Cough.  Gag.  I’m sorry.  I didn’t hear that last part.  The first part nauseated me.  Did you say you want to give me a shot in my knee what?

Doc:  well he speaks medical mumbo jumbo that boils down to he wants to put an effin needle into my knee.  Not once, but twice.  Once to numb it and once to inject the cortisone.

Me:  I look frantically at David…he’s my husband…he’s somewhat more scientific than I am.  “I don’t think I wanna do this, David.”

David to Me:  Well he sees how your knee looks all swollen and he thinks this will make it feel better.

Doc:  It works for a lot of people.  I’ll numb the area all up and it won’t hurt too much.

There I am –  a poet sitting in a medical office with an MD and a Ph.D. trying to figure my way out of this and slowly realizing that somehow or another this was going to end painfully for me.

Which it did, initially.  Today, two days later…my knee isn’t swollen.  It doesn’t hurt.  It’s still weak after 10 minutes or so but…WOW!  And it will keep getting better until the med is all in there good and then the benefit could last several months!  That’s fabulous!

This has been my first pain-free day since 2/7!  I’d do a little Cajun Gig but I don’t want to – you know – put the voodoo on myself.

Yay and Laterz!

Ellespeth   ♥

3 thoughts on “You. Want. To. Do. WHAT?

Leave a Reply

