A Party Scene – Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  So grateful to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge. This week’s photo prompt is provided by TJ Paris. Thank you TJ!

Please follow little froggy for more stories

Here is the photograph and my story.

A Party Scene
“Why are you trying to rescue her?” I asked my best friend. I’m not sure. Maybe I raised my voice a decimal or so but not so much that everyone at the party had to turn and stare at me.

“I’m not trying to rescue her.” Claire put her hand on my shoulder – maybe to calm me or maybe to shut me up.

“I saw him kissing her on our front porch!” I shook off her touch. “I was putting our daughter to bed while my husband was kissing one of our party guests.”

Our eyes met. She knew, of course. Marriages go through phases. One is lucky to escape them.

Ellespeth

(W/C 113)

7 thoughts on “A Party Scene – Fiction

  1. Marriages may go through phases, but having your spouse involved with another woman is not one that should be overlooked or tolerated. Some may have the ability to get passed it, but I would never be one of those people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

