The Two Of Us – Fiction

Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  So grateful to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.   This week’s photo prompt is provided by Dorothy. Thank you Dorothy!

I still get so nervous to post here.   It reminds me of doing poetry reading long ago.   Fiction, like poetry,  bares one’s soul.

Please follow little froggy for more stories

Here is the photograph and my story.


The Two Of Us

Lara was healing, so she could laugh again. It wasn’t yet the vibrant laugh she’d had before,  but Lara and Trey hoped for the best. They certainly weren’t about to let a life changing fall get the best of them.

“I just can’t stand it that you’re pulling all the weight these days,” Lara said. There were so many pieces and parts of her life that were hurting these last few months.

“Just lean into me, Babe,” Trey pleaded for the hundredth time.

“Don’t you mean lean on you?”

“OK.  Lean on me,. It’s all fine with me. Whatever feels best for you.” He smiled Lara’s way. “Now…left,left, left right left. I left my husband alone in the kitchen, scrubbing the dishes,” Trey joked as they did Lara’s leg exercises.

Lara laughed again. It felt good to laugh at reality.

Ellespeth

W/C 141

(the left right left part is some marching drill thingy – probably from the Army – that my PE class used when we had drill class,  I think the original one was ‘i left my wife with 48 kids alone in the kitchen scrubbing the dishes’ or something like that)

15 thoughts on “The Two Of Us – Fiction

  1. A beautiful story of love and support. Everyone needs someone to help them sometimes in their life and it’s wonderful when you know the person helping is doing it out of love and not just because they have to or feel like they have to..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

